National Roadside Assistance
800-844-1409

Links to State Equine Information

State Name Title Department Agency Address City, ST, Zip Phone / Fax Email Website
Alabama Dr. Tony Frazier State Veterinarian Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries 1445 Federal Drive Montgomery, AL 36107 334-240-7253 /
334-240-7198
stvet@agi.alabama.gov www.agi.state.al.us
Alaska Dr. Robert F. Gerlach State Veterinarian Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation Division of Environmental Health 5251 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Ave. Anchorage, AK 99507  907-375-8215 /
 907-929-7335
bob.gerlach@alaska.gov www.dec.state.ak.us/eh/vet/ 
Arizona Dr. John W. Hunt Acting State Veterinarian Arizona Department of Agriculture 1688 West Adams Street Phoenix, AZ 85007  602-542-7186 /
 602-542-5420
jhunt@azda.gov www.azda.gov/ 
Arkansas Dr. George P. Badley State Veterinarian Arkansas Livestock & Poultry Commission #1 Natural Resources Dr. Little Rock, AR 72205  501-907-2400 /
 501-907-2425
pbadley@alpc.ar.gov www.arlpc.org/ 
California Dr. Annette Whiteford Director/State Veterinarian California Department of Food and Agriculture Division of Animal Health and Food Safety Services 1220 N. Street, Room A-114 Sacramento, CA 95814  916-654-0881 /
 916-653-4249
awhiteford@cdfa.ca.gov www.cdfa.ca.gov/ 
Colorado Dr. Keith Roehr Division Director/State Veterinarian Colorado Department of Agriculture Division of Animal Industry 305 Interlocken Pkwy Broomfield, CO 80021  303-869-9130 /
 303-466-8515
keith.roehr@ag.state.co.us www.colorado.gov/ag 
Connecticut Dr. Mary J. Lis State Veterinarian Connecticut Department of Agriculture Bureau of Regulation and Inspection 165 Capitol Avenue, G-8A Hartford, CT 06106  860-713-2504 /
 860-713-2515
mary.lis@ct.gov www.ct.gov/doag/site/default.asp
Deleware Dr. Heather L. Hirst State Veterinarian Deleware Department of Agriculture 2320 S DuPont HWY Dover, DE 19901  302-698-4500 /
 302-697-4451
heather.hirst@state.de.us www.dda.delaware.gov
Florida Dr. Thomas J. Holt Director/State Veterinarian Florida Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services Division of Animal Industry 407 S Calhoun St Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800  850-410-0900 /
 850-410-0915
holtt@doacs.state.fl.us www.doacs.state.fl.us/ai
Georgia Dr. C. Carter Black State Veterinarian Georgia Department of Agriculture Animal Industry Division 19 Martin Luther King Jr Dr SW Atlanta, GA 30334-4201  404-656-3671 /
 404-657-1357
cblack@agr.state.ga.us www.agr.georgia.gov
Idaho Dr. Bill Barton Administrator Idaho Department of Agriculture Division of Animal Industry PO Box 7249 Boise, ID 83707-9985  208-332-8540 /
 208-334-4062
bill.barton@agri.idaho.gov www.agri.idaho.gov
Illiois Dr. Mark J. Ernst State Veterinarian/Bureau Chief Illiois Department of Agriculture Bureau of Animal Health and Welfare PO Box 19281 State Fairgrounds Springfield, IL 62794-9281 217-782-4944 /
 217-558-6033
mark.ernst@illinois.gov www.agr.state.il.us
Indiana Dr. Bret D. Marsh State Veterinarian Indiana State Board of Animal Health 805 Beachway Dr Ste 50 Indianapolis, IN 46224-7785  317-227-0300 /
 317-227-0368
bmarsh@boah.in.gov www.boah.in.gov
Iowa Dr. David D. Schmitt State Veterinarian State of Iowa Department of Agriculture Bureau of Animal Industry 502 E 9th St Des Moines, IA 50319  515-281-5305 /
 515-281-4282
david.schmitt@iowaagriculture.gov www.agriculture.state.ia.us
Kansas Dr. William L. Brown Livestock Commissioner Kansas Animal Health Department 708 SW Jackson Topeka, KS 66603-3714  785-296-2326 /
 785-296-1795
wbrown@kahd.ks.gov www.accesskansas.org/kahd
Kentucky Dr. Robert C. Stout State Veterinarian 100 Fair Oaks Ln Ste 252 Frankfort, KY 40601  502-564-3956 /
 502-564-7852
robert.stout@ky.gov www.kyagr.com
Louisiana Dr. Brent Robbins State Veterinarian Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry Animal Health and Food Safety PO Box 1951 Baton Rouge, LA 70821  225-925-3980 /
 225-925-4103
animalhealth@ldaf.state.la.us www.ldaf.state.la.us
Maine Dr. Donald E. Hoenig State Veterinarian Department of Agriculture Food and Rural Resources 28 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0028  207-287-3701 /
 207-624-5044
donald.e.hoenig@maine.gov www.state.me.us/agriculture
Maryland Dr. Guy Hohenhaus; Dr. Tom Jacobs State Veterinarian: Assistant State Veterinarian Maryland Department of Agriculture Animal Health Program 50 Harry S Truman Pkwy Annapolis, MD 21401  410-841-5810 /
 410-841-5999
hohengs@mda.state.md.us; jjacbonst@mda.state.md.us www.mda.state.md.us
Massachusetts Dr. Lorraine O'Connor State Veterinarian Division of Biosecurity and Regulatory Services 251 Causeway St Ste 500 Boston, MA 02114-2151  617-626-1795 /
 617-626-1850
lorraine.o'connor@state.ma.us www.mass.gov/agr
Michigan Dr. Steven L. Halstead State Veterinarian Michigan Department of Agriculture Animal Husbandry Division PO Box 30017 Landsing, MI 48909  517-373-1077 /
 517-241-4502
halsteads@michigan.gov www.michigan.gov
Minnesota Dr. William L. Hartmann Executive Director and State Veterinarin State of Minnesota Board of Animal Health 625 Robert St N St Paul, MN 55155  651-296-2942 /
 651-296-7417
bill.hartmann@bah.state.mn.us www.bah.state.mn.us
Mississippi Dr. James A. Watson State Veterinarian Mississippi Board of Animal Health PO Box 3889 Jackson, MS 39207  601-359-1170 /
 601-359-1177
jimw@mdac.state.ms.us www.mbah.state.ms.us
Missouri Dr. Taylor Woods Acting State Veterinarian Missouri Department of Agriculture Division of Animal Healthy PO Box 630 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0630  573-751-3377 /
 573-751-6919
taylor.woods@mda.mo.gov www.mda.mo.gov
Montana Dr. Martin Zaluski State Veterinarian and Administrator Montana Department of Livestock Animal Health Division PO Box 202001 Helena, MT 59620-2001  406-444-2043 /
 406-444-1929
mzaluski@mt.gov www.mt.gov/liv/
Nebraska Dr. Dennis A. Hughes State Veterinarian Nebraska Department of Agriculture Bureau of Animal Industry PO Box 94787 Lincoln, NE 68509-4787  402-471-2351 /
 402-471-6893
dennis.hughes@nebraska.gov www.agr.state.ne.us
Nevada Dr. Phil LaRussa State Veterinarian Nevada Department of Agriculture Administrator Division of Animal Industry 405 S 21st St Sparks, NV 89431  775-353-3755 /
 775-353-3757
plarussa@agri.state.nv.us www.agri.state.nv.us
New Hampshire Dr. Stephen K. Crawford State Veterinarian New Hampshire Department of Agriculture Markets and Food PO Box 2042 Concord, NH 03302-2042  603-271-2404 /
 603-271-1109
scrawford@agr.state.nh.us www.agriculture.nh.gov
New Jersey Dr. Nancy E. Halpern Director/State Veterinarian Department of Agriculture Division of Animal Health PO Box 330 Trenton, NJ 08625  609-292-3965 /
 609-777-8395
nancy.halpern@ag.state.nj.us www.state.nj.us/agriculture
New Mexico Dr. Dave E. Fly State Veterinarian New Mexico Livestock Board 300 San Mateo Blvd NE Ste 1000 Albuquerque, NM 87108-1500  505-841-6163 /
 505-841-6160
dave.fly@state.nm.us www.nmlbonline.com
New York Dr. David Smith Acting State Veterinarian Department on Agriculture and Markets Division of Animal Industry 10B Airline Dr Albany, NY 12235  518-457-3502 /
 518-485-7773
david.smith@agmkt.state.ny.us www.agmkt.state.ny.us
North Carolina Dr. David T. Marshall State Veterinarian/Director of Diagnostic Laboratories North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Veterinarian Division 1030 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1030  919-733-7601 /
 919-733-6431
david.marshall@ncagr.gov www.agr.state.nc.us/vet
North Dakota Dr. Susan J. Keller State Veterinarian North Dakota Department of Agriculture North Dakota State Board of Animal Health 600 E Blvd Ave Dept 602 Bismarck, ND 58505-0020  701-328-2657 /
 701-328-4567
skeller@nd.gov www.state.nd.us
Ohio Dr. Tony M. Forshey State Veterinarian Ohio Department of Agriculture Division of Animal Industry 8995 E Main St Bldg 6 Reynoldsburg, OH 43068  614-728-6220 /
 614-728-6310
tforshey@agri.ohio.gov www.ohioagriculture.gov
Oklahoma Dr. Becky Brewer-Walker Director/State Veterinarian Oklahoma Animal Industry Services Division   2800 N Lincoln Blvd PO Box 528804 Oklahome City, OK 73153  405-522-6131 /
 405-522-0756
becky.brewer@oda.state.ok.us www.oda.state.ok.us
Oregon Dr. Donald E. Hansen State Veterinarian Oregon Department of Agriculture 635 Capital St NE Salem, OR 97301  503-986-4680 /
 503-986-4734
dhansen@oda.state.or.us www.oregon.gov/oda/ahid
Pennsylvania Dr. Craig Shultz State Veterinarian Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture Burea of Animal Health and Diagnostic Services 2301 N Cameron St Harrisburg, PA 17110-9408  717-772-2852 /
 717-787-1868
crashultz@state.pa.us www.agriculture.state.pa.us
Rhode Island Dr. Scott Marshall Public Health Veterinarian Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management Division of Agriculture/Animal Health 235 Promenade St Room 370 Providence, RI 02908-5767  401-222-2781 ext. 4503 /
 401-222-6047
scott.marshall@dem.ri.gov www.dem.ri.gov
South Carolina Dr. Boyd H. Parr Director/State Veterinarian Clemson University Livestock-Poultry Healthy Division PO Box 102406 Columbia, SC 29224-2406  803-788-2260 /
 803-788-8058
bparr@clemson.edu www.agriculture.sc.gov/
South Dakota Dr. Dustin Oedekoven State Veterinarian South Dakota Animal Industry Board 411 S Fort St Pierre, SD 57501-4503  605-773-3321 /
 605-773-5459
dustin.oedekoven@state.sd.us www.state.sd.us/aib/
Tennessee Dr. Charles Hatcher State Veterinarian Tennessee Department of Agriculture   PO Box 40627 Nashville, TN 37204  615-837-5120 /
 615-837-5250
charles.hatcher@tn.gov www.state.tn.us/agriculture/
Texas Dr. Dee Ellis State Veterinarian Texas Animal Health Commission PO Box 12966 Austin, TX 78711-2966  512-719-0700 /
 512-719-0719
dee.ellis@tahc.state.tx.us www.tahc.state.tx.us
Utah Dr. Bruce L. King State Veterinarian Utah Department of Agriculture and Food PO Box 146500 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500  801-538-7162 /
 801-538-7169
bking@utah.gov www.ag.utah.gov
Vermont Dr. Kristin Haas Director/State Veterinarian Vermont Agency of Agriculture Food and Markets 116 State St Montpelier, VT 05620-2901  802-828-2426 /
 802-828-5983
kristin.haas@state.vt.us www.vermontagriculture.com
Virginia Dr. Richard Wilkes Director/State Veterinarian Virigina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Division of Animal and Food Industry Services PO Box 1163 Oliver W Hill Bldg Rm 165 Richmond, VA 23218  804-692-0601 /
 804-371-2380
richard.wilkes@vdacs.virginia.gov www.vdacs.virginia.gov
Washington Dr. Leonard Eldridge State Veterinarian Washington State Department of Agriculture Animal Services Division PO Box 42560 Olympia, WA 98504-2577  360-902-1881 /
 360-902-2087
ledridge@agr.wa.gov www.agr.wa.gov/Portals/An/
West Virginia Dr. Gary O. Kinder Director/State Veterinarian West Virginia Department of Agriculture 1900 Kanawha Blvd E Charleston, WV 25305-0172  304-558-2214 /
 304-558-2231
gkinder@aq.state.wv.us www.wvagriculture.org
Wisconsin Dr. Robert G. Ehlenfeldt State Veterinarian Department of Agriculture Division of Animal Health/Trade and Consumer Protection PO Box 8911 Madison, WI 53708-8911  608-224-4880 /
 608-224-4871
robert.ehlenfeldt@wisconsin.gov www.datcp.state.wi.us
Wyoming Dr. Jim Logan State Veterinarian Wyoming Livestock Board 610 Fairgrounds Rd Riverton, WY 82501  307-857-4140 /
 307-777-6561
jlogan@state.wy.us www.state.wy.us
Please Contact State Veterinarian with Questions and for More Details.